Museum of the Cariboo Chilcotin Annual General Meeting Williams Lake City Council Chambers November 23, 2017

Received: November 15, 2018

Board members present; President George Atamanenko, Vice President SurinderPal Rathor, Treasurer Basim Marhoon, Secretary Diana French, Directors Majorie Schuk, Pam Mahon, Wayne Lucier, Mary Telfer

Absent Directors Jason Hughes, Sherri Schultz, Ian Gordon

VP SurinderPal Rathor opened the meeting at 7:05 pm, greeting the membership and explained the rules for the meeting.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA Moved by Reta Seibert, 2nd Patti Gerhardi that the Agenda be adopted. Carried.

MINUTES Surinder read the minutes of the 2016 AGM.

Moved by Janice Sapp, 2nd by Wayne Lucier that the minutes be adopted. Carried.

Before introducing the president, Surinder thanked the outgoing board for their hard work, and that included Loren Buckle, Al Giddens and Michael Rawluk who had resigned during the year.

REPORTS

President: G. Atamanenko (report attached)

George discussed the move, noting it wasn't easy, but he gave an optimistic outlook for the future of the museum at the Tourist Discovery Centre until a Heritage Village could be developed.

Vice President: S. Rathor said he had been acting president for the last three months which have been busy, meeting with city council and chairing public meetings. He indicated there were some uncertainties remaining over the move, such as concerns over the location, insurance of museum assets and safety of artifacts, some of which are stored at the tourist Discovery Centre, others at the city works yard and at the airport.

Moved Janice Sapp, 2nd Cece Jaeger that both reports be accepted as presented. Carried

Executive Director /Curator: William Adams gave his report and the report of the Hall of Fame Committee (Both Attached.) The Red Cross relief funding has been applied for. Moved Kelly Walls, 2nd Colleen Crossley that the report be accepted. Carried.

Treasurer: Basim Marhoon and S. Rathor gave the 20016/17 financial statement which showed a surplus of \$38,258. A number of people asked for copies of the statements. After some discussion, D. French moved, 2nd Reta Seibert, that the statement be accepted as circulated. Carried.

Basim and Surinder presented the 2017/18 budget which shows a possible deficit of \$16,875. After some discussion it was moved by Bonnie O'Neil, 2nd D. French that the budget proposal be accepted. Carried.

Moved by Chrystal Bremner, 2nd by John Dell that the financial documents be made available online. Amendment by Janice Sapp asking that the previous meetings minutes also be available on line. Amended resolution carried.

Following the reports, Surinder opened the floor for discussion. Sheila Wyse presented the following motion, 2nd by Diane Toop, "That the museum be moved to a stand alone site in the downtown core until a permanent home for the museum is built in the community." After some discussion the question was called and carried 39 for, 9 against.

Moved by Sheila Wyse, 2nd by Diane Toop that the board of the Museum of the Cariboo Chilcotin strike a committee to investigate suitable rental space for the museum in the downtown core. This committee will report back with a recommendation to the board by December 15, 2017.

Carried unanimously.

Moved by Reta Seibert, 2nd Cece Jaeger that the 2017/18 Board make it a top priority to find a place for the BC Cowboy Hall of Fame. Carried.

The election for board members followed. At Surinder's request. Mayor Walt Cobb conducted the election.

George Atamanekno and Diana French were nominated for President. George was elected. S. Rathor declined the nomination for vice president. Mary Telfer accepted the nomination and was elected by acclamation. Basim Marhoon declined the nomination for Treasurer, Lori Wilson was elected by acclamation. Janice Sapp was elected as Secretary by acclamation. Acclaimed as Directors were; Crystal Bremner, Lorina Sundt, Sherri Schultz, Laura Zimmerman, Marjorie Schuk, Wayne Lucier, Pam Mahon, Patti Gerhardi.

Kelly Walls moved that the ballots be destroyed. Carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 pm

Recorded by Diana French